CAERPHILLY COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

NOTICE OF THE DECISIONS FROM THE JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON MONDAY 26TH FEBRUARY 2024 AT 5.00 P.M.

PRESENT:

Councillor G. Johnston - Chair

Councillors: M. Adams, E. M. Aldworth, A. Angel, C. Bishop, A. Broughton-Pettit, M. Chacon-Dawson, R. Chapman, P. Cook, C. Cuss, N. Dix, G. Ead, K. Etheridge, M. Evans, A. Farina-Childs, A. Gair, C. Gordon, D. Harse, A. Hussey, D. Ingram-Jones, L. Jeremiah, S. Kent, A. Leonard, A. McConnell, B. Miles, B. Owen, M. Powell, D. Preece, H. Pritchard, J.A. Pritchard, J. Rao, J. Simmonds, C. Thomas, A. Whitcombe, S. Williams, W. Williams, J. Winslade, K. Woodland, and C. Wright.

Co-opted Member: M. Western (Cardiff ROC Archdiocesan Commission for Education).

Cabinet Members in attendance: S. Morgan (Leader of Council), C. Andrews (Education and Communities), S. Cook (Housing), E. Forehead (Social Care), N. George (Corporate Services, Property and Highways), P. Leonard (Planning and Public Protection), C. Morgan (Waste, Leisure and Green Spaces), and E. Stenner (Finance and Performance).

Officers: D. Street (Deputy Chief Executive), M. S. Williams (Corporate Director Economy and Environment), R. Edmunds (Corporate Director for Education and Corporate Services), S. Harris (Head of Financial Services and S151 Officer), S. Richards (Head of Education Planning and Strategy), S. Ellis (Lead for Inclusion and ALN), S. Mutch (Early Years Manager), R. Tranter (Head of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer), G. Jenkins (Interim Director of Social Services), J. Williams (Assistant Director Adult Services), L. Lucas (Head of Customer and Digital Services), R. Kyte (Head of Regeneration and Planning), B. Winstanley (Head of Land and Property), (P. Warren (Strategic Lead for School Improvement), R. Roberts (Business Improvement Manager), J. Pearce (Business Improvement Officer), S. Pugh (Communications Manager), M. Jacques (Scrutiny Officer), A. Jones (Committee Services Officer) and J. Lloyd (Committee Services Officer).

The decisions and declarations of interest are set out below. For further details please refer to the relevant report.

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
1.	To receive apologies for absence.	Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. Cushing, D.T. Davies, E. Davies, C. Elsbury, G. Enright, C. Forehead, J. Fussell, T. Heron, M. James, J. Jones, C. Mann, T. Parry, L. Phipps, D. Price, J. Reed, J. Roberts, R. Saralis, J. Scriven, S. Skivens, J. Taylor, and L. Whittle.	N/A
2.	Declarations of interest.	There were no declarations of interest received.	N/A
3.	Joint Scrutiny Committee held on 15th January 2024.	RESOLVED that subject to the inclusion of apologies being noted for Mr M Western (Co-opted Member), the minutes of the Joint Scrutiny Committee meeting held on 15 th January 2024 be approved as a correct record.	35 For 0 Against 1 Abstentions

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
4.	Joint Scrutiny Committee held on 23rd January 2024.	RESOLVED that subject to the inclusion of apologies being noted for Mr M Western (Co-opted Member), the minutes of the Joint Scrutiny Committee meeting held on 23rd January 2024 be approved as a correct record.	33 For 0 Against 1 Abstentions
5.	Annual Self-Assessment Report (Including Well-Being Objectives) 2022/23.	The Joint Scrutiny Committee reviewed the Self-Assessment Report (including Well-being Objectives) 2022/23 (Appendix 1) and discussed, challenged, and scrutinised the information contained within.	No vote required

Circulation:

Published Electronically by 5.00pm on Wednesday 6^{th} March 2024.